Sunday Concert: Morgan Szymanski & Benyounes Quartet

Sun 26 May 2019 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Conway Hall

Buy tickets / Join the guestlist

Ticket Type Price Fee Quantity

General admission

£10.00 + £0.00 booking fee
The advance ticket is £2 cheaper than those bought on the door.
£10.00 £0.00

£0.00 + £0.00 booking fee
Tickets kindly subsidised by the CAVATINA Chamber Music Trust. ID required.
£0.00 £0.00

£8.00 + £0.00 booking fee
Special price for Ethical Society Members. Please bring your membership card to the concert.
£8.00 £0.00

Your donation will go towards our Sunday Concert series, to enable us to continue providing high quality chamber music at an affordable cost.

Sub Total 0.00

Sunday Concert: Morgan Szymanski & Benyounes Quartet image

Vivaldi Lute Concerto in D (Allegro Giusto - Largo - Allegro)
Cantabile for violin and guitar
Fandango Quintet in D
Oración del Torero Op. 34
Scenes de Bal
Piazzolla arr. Szymanski
Histoire du Tango (Café 1930 & Nightclub 1960)

Zara Benyounes (violin)
Emily Holland (violin)
Sara Roberts (viola)
Kim Vaughan (cello)
Morgan Szymanski (guitar)

Mexican guitarist Morgan Szymanski was highlighted as 'one to watch' by Gramophone magazine. For his second Conway Hall concert, he comes together with the Benyounes Quartet in a programme spanning more than two hundred years, including his own arrangements of Piazzolla and Puccini's Cristantemi, composed in a single night in 1890, in response to the death of the Duke of Savoy.

There will also be a short audience question and answer session with the musicians after the performance.

Pre-concert talk | Robert Hugill, 5:30pm in the Brockway Room
Composer, musicologist and blogger Robert Hugill introduces the evening's programme